HomeWorld Football

Update: Lewandowski Wins 2020 Best FIFA Men’s Player Of The Year Award

Update: Lewandowski Wins 2020 Best FIFA Men’s Player Of The Year Award

Poland and Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski has been crowned 2020 Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year.

Lewandowski beat off competition from Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo to land the award.

The Best FIFA Football Awards were held on Thursday evening in a virtual event due to the COVID pandemic, hosted in Zurich, Switzerland by former Milan star Ruud Gullit.

Also Read: Turkish Cup: Kayode Scores Late Winner For Sivasspor Vs Giresunspor


Lewandowski had also been the favourite for the Ballon d’Or, but France Football decided not to assign it for 2020.

It has been a memorable year for the Polish striker who won the Bundesliga, DFB-Pokal, UEFA Champions League, UEFA Super Cup, German Super Cup.

Also, he was crowned UEFA Men’s Forward of the Year, UEFA Men’s Player of the Year and Bundesliga Player of the Year.

He scored 55 goals in 47 matches with 10 assists.

The former Borussia Dortmund star was in the running for the Golden Shoe award as top scorer in European league football for 2019-20, but was pipped to the post by Lazio hitman Ciro Immobile.

Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp won the Coach of the Year award for the second season in a row for Liverpool’s Premier League triumph, beating Bayern boss Hansi Flick and Leeds United manager Marcelo Bielsa.

Also, South Korean and Tottenham Hotspur forward Heung-Min Son got the Puskas award for his solo goal against Burnley.

FIFA The Best Awards winners:

Men’s Player of the Year: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich and Poland)

Men’s Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich and Germany)

Men’s Coach: Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)

Men’s World XI: Alisson Becker; Trent Alexander-Arnold, Sergio Ramos, Virgil Van Dijk, Alphonsu Davies; Kevin De Bruyne, Thiago Alcantara, Joshua Kimmich; Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski, Cristiano Ronaldo

Women’s Player of the Year: Lucy Bronze (Manchester City and England)

Women’s Goalkeeper: Sarah Bouhaddi (Lyon and France)

Women’s Coach: Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands)

Women’s World XI: Endler; Bronze, Renard, Bright; Rapinoe, Heath, Boquete, Bonansea, Harder; Miedema, Cascarino

FIFA Puskas Award: Heung-min Son (Tottenham v Burnley)

FIFA Foundation Award: Marcus Rashford for child food poverty campaign

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.