HomeWorld Football

Messi, Haaland, Bellingham, Others Nominated For 2024 Laureus World Sports Awards

Messi, Haaland, Bellingham, Others Nominated For 2024 Laureus World Sports Awards

The trio of Lionel Messi, Manchester City forward Erling Haaland and Real Madrid’s Jude Bellingham have been nominated for the 2024 Laureus World Sports Awards.

Recall that Messi won the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year award in 2023 and will do battle with Haaland for the gong this time around.

Real Madrid star and Haaland’s close friend Jude Bellingham has been nominated for the Laureus Breakthrough of the Year award.


Read Also: Injured Troost-Ekong To Undergo Minor Surgery

He will hope to add it to his growing tally, after previously being voted the ‘Golden Boy’ as Europe’s best footballer under 21 years of age

See full nominations

Sportsman of the Year

Novak Djokovic (Serbia) – tennis

Mondo Duplantis (Sweden) – athletics

Erling Haaland (Norway) – football

Noah Lyles (USA) – athletics

Lionel Messi (Argentina) – football

Max Verstappen (Netherlands) – motor racing

Sportswoman of the Year

Aitana Bonmati (Spain) – football

Shericka Jackson (Jamaica) – athletics

Faith Kipyegon (Kenya) – athletics

Sha’Carri Richardson (USA) – athletics

Mikaela Shiffrin (USA) – skiing

Iga Swiatek (Poland) – tennis

Team of the year

European Ryder Cup Team – golf

Germany men – basketball

Manchester City – football

Red Bull – Formula 1

South Africa – rugby

Spain women – football

Breakthrough of the Year

Jude Bellingham (GB) – football

Linda Caicedo (Colombia) – football

Coco Gauff (USA) – tennis

Qin Haiyang (China) – swimming

Josh Kerr (UK) – athletics

Salma Paralluelo (Spain) – football

Comeback of the Year

Simone Biles (USA) – gymnastics

Sébastien Haller (Ivory Coast) – football

Katarina Johnson-Thompson (UK) – athletics

Siya Kolisi (South Africa) – rugby

Jamal Murray (Canada) – basketball

Marketa Vondrousova (Czech Republic) – tennis

Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability

Simone Barlaam (Italy) – swimming

Danylo Chufarov (Ukraine) – swimming

Diede de Groot (Netherlands) – tennis

Luca Ekler (Hungary) – athletics

Nicole Murray (New Zealand) – cycling

Markus Rehm (Germany) – athletics

Action Sportsperson of the Year

Rayssa Leal (Brazil) – skateboarding

Caroline Marks (USA) – surfing

Kirsten Neuschafer (South Africa) – sailing

Bethany Shriever (GB) – BMX

Filipe Toledo (Brazil) – surfing

Arisa Trew (Australia) – skateboarding

Sport for Good

Bola Pra Frente (Brazil) multi-sport and employability

Dancing Grounds (USA) – dancing and social integration

Fundacion Rafa Nadal (Spain) – tennis and education

ISF Cambodia – football & education

Justice Desk Africa (South Africa) – multi-sport and human rights

Obiettivo Napoli (Italy) – multi-sport and inclusion

Copyright © 2024 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.


Update cookies preferences