HomeNigeria National Teams

2022 WCQ Playoffs: Referee Right To Cancel Penalty Awarded To Super Eagles –Amokachi

2022 WCQ Playoffs: Referee Right To Cancel Penalty Awarded To Super Eagles –Amokachi

Former Nigerian forward, Daniel Amokachi has applauded the referee’s decision to disallow the penalty awarded to the Super Eagles in Friday’s 2022 World Cup qualifying playoffs against the Black Stars of Ghana.



But during the match, the Super Eagles were denied a chance to score a game-winning goal when the ball hit the hand of Iddrisu Baba from Oghenekaro Etebo’s effort.

1xBit



However, there was a penalty call reversed by the Moroccan referee, Redouane Jiyed after a handball by Baba in the 76th minute.



Jiyed, however, was advised to check the VAR monitor on the side of the pitch and he changed his initial decision after spotting a foul by Kelechi Iheanacho on the Ghanaian prior to him handling the ball in the box.

MegaMillionsNaija



And Amokachi believes that it would have been a stonewall penalty if Iheanacho had not pushed Baba in the build-up, insisting that the referee made the right call.



“When the referee was called back to look at the monitor, we knew it was going to be disallowed. That’s when I saw the trip,” Amokachi said on SuperSport along with Austin Okocha and John Paintsil.



“We saw the replay, the referee that went to see the monitor had a better chance to see it.



“It was a penalty kick one hundred percent without the pull, but when you look at it, a foul before the penalty kick, I think the referee got it spot on,” he added.



 

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.

 

COMMENTS

WORDPRESS: 4
  • Sammy 5 months ago

    Very honest man, unlike Ghanaian people.

     
  • S Kene 5 months ago

    It’s unfortunate Ihenacho committed a clear foul on a Ghanaian defender before he handled the ball, hence it was penalty

     
  • Sunnyb 5 months ago

    Which foul iheanacho committed, the guy slipped and he lost the ball, if the situation was reversed trust me the penalty would’ve been awarded to the Ghanaians.

     
    • Jide Dola 5 months ago

      It was foul against Iheanacho. We should learn to watch TV from front not back.