HomeSports News Extra

Anyansi-Agwu Elected NFF First Vice President

Anyansi-Agwu Elected NFF First Vice President

Felix Anyansi-Agwu has been elected the new Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) first Vice President.

Anyansi-Agwu emerged the new first Vice President at the NFF’s 78th Annual General Assembly and Elective Congress held in Benin City, Edo State on Friday.

Recall also on Friday, former Chairman of Chairmen of Nigeria Football, and also Chairman of the Zamfara State Football Association Ibrahim Gusau was elected the new NFF president, succeeding Amaju Pinnick.

The long-term Chairman of Enyimba defeated Obinna Ogba (Chairman of the Senate Committee on Youth and Sports Development) by 23 votes to eight.

For the position of Chairman of Chairmen Yusuf Ahmed Fresh was unopposed just as Sharif Rabiu Inuwa had an easy ride picking a slot from the North West without any opposition.

Also Read: Casillas Denies Dating Shakira After Singer’s Split From Pique

Margaret Icheen was elected from the North Central zone, edging incumbent Mohammed Alkali by 22 votes to 19 in a run-off, just as incumbent Babagana Kalli and newman Timothy Henman Magaji succeeded in the North-East race.

Essien Udofot and Aisha Falode won the two seats available from the South-South after a run-off saw Essien taking 19 votes to Falode’s 13, with first-round leader Poubeni Ogun ejected with seven votes.

The race for seats from the South-East zone was suspended on a technicality, but Sunday Dele-Ajayi made a return to the NFF Board from the South West just as Ganiyu Majekodunmi retained his seat.

Dele-Ajayi and Majekodunmi earned 12 votes each in the run-off, with Gafar Liameed third with seven votes and Afolabi Taiwo Olugbenga in fourth place with 4 votes.

The event that lasted well into the night was witnessed by three officials of world football-governing body, FIFA: Gelson Fernandes, Solomon Mudege and Ahmad Mohamed Mukhtar Harraz while Felix Majani represented the Confederation of African Football.

Mohammed Baba Abdullahi represented the Nigeria Olympic Committee.

The Deputy Governor of Edo State, His Excellency Comrade Philip Shaibu declared the event open.

Copyright © 2024 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of


Update cookies preferences