HomeNigerian Footballers Abroad

Osimhen, Oshoala Nominated For 2023 Ballon d’Or Award

Osimhen, Oshoala Nominated For 2023 Ballon d’Or Award

Nigeria internationals Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala have been nominated for the 2023 Ballon d’Or award.

This was announced on the X handle of Ballon d’Or on Wednesday.

Nigeria becomes the first African country to ever have a Ballon d’Or nominee in men and women’s category in the same year.

Recall Oshoala was also shortlisted for the award in 2022.

Osimhen was shortlisted with 29 other players for the individual award.

He becomes the first Nigerian to be nominated for the men’s Ballon d’Or since 1999.

Other players who are shortlisted in the 30-man shortlist include Lionel Messi, Karim Benzema, Kylian Mbappe, Harry Kane, Bukayo Saka, Mohamed Salah and Kevin De Bruyne.

Also included are Antoine Griezmann, Martin Odegaard, Luka Modric, Ilkay Gundogan, Vinicius Junior and Robert Lewandowski.

In the women’s category, Oshoala will also hope contest for the award against 29 others players.

Also read: Kroos Should Have Won Five Ballon d’Ors –Joselu

Osimhen became the first-ever African to finish top scorer in Serie A last season, netting 26 goals in 32 games, as Napoli won a first league title since 1990.

The Super Eagles striker was also named best foreign athlete in Italy last campaign.

He is currently in Uyo, Akwa Ibom for Sunday’s 2023 AFCON qualifier against São Tomé and Principe.

Oshoala helped Barcelona win the Spanish women’s league, scoring 21 goals in 28 games.

Also, she played her part as Barcelona won the UEFA women’s Champions League last season.

Also, she helped Nigeria’s Super Falcons reach the round of 16 at the 2023 FIFA women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

The winners of the 2023 Ballon d’Or award for both men and women will be known at a ceremony in Paris, France on Monday, October 30.

Copyright © 2024 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.


  • Shame a sports website doewn’t have the full details yet when it’s all over the web.


    Victor Osimhen (Napoli)
    Josko Gvardiol (Manchester City)
    Andre Onana (Manchester United)
    Karim Benzema (Al Ittihad)
    Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)
    Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
    Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid)
    Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
    Randal Kolo Muani (Paris Saint Germain)
    Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City)
    Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)
    Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Napoli)
    Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa)
    Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
    Nicola Barella (Inter Milan)
    Erling Haaland (Manchester City)
    Yassine Bounou (Al Hilal)
    Martin Odegaard (Arsenal)
    Julian Alvarez (Manchester City)
    Ilkay Gundogan (Barcelona)
    Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid)
    Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona)
    Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
    Lautaro Martinez (Inter MIlan)
    Lionel Messi (Inter Miami)
    Rodri (Barcelona)
    Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint German)
    Kim Min-Jae (Bayern Munich)
    Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
    Harry Kane (Bayern Munich)

    Btw, if Messi wins this again this year, then I’ll stop taking the award serious as it would have lost its suspense and glamour. But I suspect that’s the plan once more after the alleged rigged Qatar WC Win.

Update cookies preferences