HomeWorld Football

Liverpool, Sane, Salah Make History In Dramatic Win Vs Chelsea

Liverpool, Sane, Salah Make History In Dramatic Win Vs Chelsea

Premier League champions Liverpool created history in their dramatic 5-3 win against Chelsea in Wednesday’s game at Anfield.

The Reds win against Chelsea means they  remained unbeaten at Anfield in three consecutive league seasons for the first time in the club’s history. 

The win also took them to 31 at Anfield this season the first time they will achieve such feat in a single season in their 128-year history.

Also Read: Mainz Want To Re-Sign Awoniyi On Loan From Liverpool

There were also personal history made as Sadio Mané and Mohamed Salah became the first Senegalese and Egyptian players to win the Premier League trophy.

Liverpool’s youngster Harvey Elliot at 17 years and 109 days old is now the youngest player in Premier League history to receive a winners’ medal.

Naby Keita opened scoring for Liverpool in the 23rd minute with a brilliant volley from outside the box.

In the 38th minute Trent Alexander-Arnold made it 2-0 with a superb free-kick which left Kepa Arrizabalaga glued on the spot.

With three minutes left in the first half Georginio Wijnaldum made it 3-0 as he hammered a left-foot strike into the roof of the net.

Three minutes into first half added time, Olivier Giroud scored for Chelsea as he reacted quickest to a rebound.

Ten minutes into the restart Roberto Firmino connected to Alexander-Arnold’s well timed cross to make it 4-1.

But Chelsea refused to give up and scored to make it 4-2 on 61 minutes thanks to Tammy Abraham who tapped in from close range following a brilliant solo run from Christian Pulisic.

The American then made it 4-3 in the 73rd minute after turning brilliantly inside the box and fired past Alisson.

But with six minutes remaining in the game Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain got Liverpool’s fifth as he finished off a brilliant counter attack.

The win took Liverpool to 96 points while Chelsea drop to fourth position on 63 points and must avoid defeat against Wolverhampton Wanderers to secure Champions League qualification.

And after the game Liverpool were presented with the League trophy which they last won in 1990.

By James Agberebi 

Copyright © 2024 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.


Update cookies preferences