Los Angeles Sparks’ Nneka Ogwumike Wins 2021 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award

Los Angeles Sparks’ Nneka Ogwumike Wins 2021 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award

Los Angeles Sparks forward Nneka Ogwumike has been named the recipient of the 2021 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award, the WNBA (www.WNBA.com) announced today. This is the third straight Sportsmanship Award for Ogwumike, making her the only player to win the award in three consecutive years.

The Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award is presented each season to a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court, including ethical behavior, fair play and integrity. The award is named for the late Kim Perrot, who helped guide the Houston Comets to their first two WNBA championships before passing away in August 1999 after a seven-month battle with cancer.


Related: Women’s AfroBasket 2021 Final: Hughley Humbled As D’Tigress Chase Third Consecutive African Title

Ogwumike received 19 votes from a national panel of 49 sportswriters and broadcasters. Atlanta Dream center/forward Elizabeth Williams finished second (eight). Washington Mystics guard Ariel Atkins and Phoenix Mercury forward Brianna Turner (four votes each) tied for third place. Minnesota Lynx center Sylvia Fowles, Indiana Fever guard Danielle Robinson and Las Vegas Aces forward A’ja Wilson all received three votes. Rounding out the votes were Connecticut Sun guard Briann January (two), Seattle Storm guard Jewell Loyd (one), Chicago Sky guard Allie Quigley (one), and New York Liberty guard Sami Whitcomb (one).

Zenith Ziva

A member of the W25, Ogwumike has been an invaluable leader for the WNBA community. Over the last two years, Ogwumike, as President of the Women’s National Basketball Players Association, has spearheaded a new and groundbreaking Collective Bargaining Agreement and led much of the league’s social justice efforts. She also previously won the 2018 season-long Community Assist Award for her dedication to community service efforts.

The six-time WNBA All-Star and former Most Valuable Player, Ogwumike led the Sparks with 14.5 points and 6.5 rebounds in 18 games. Ogwumike is a five-time All-WNBA selection and won a championship with the Sparks in 2016. She was also named the 2012 WNBA Rookie of the Year, which followed her selection by Los Angeles as the No. 1 overall pick in the 2012 WNBA Draft.

Below are the voting results for the 2021 WNBA Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award and a list of all-time winners.

2021 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award Results

Nneka OgwumikeLos Angeles Sparks19
Elizabeth WilliamsAtlanta Dream8
Ariel AtkinsWashington Mystics4
Brianna TurnerPhoenix Mercury4
Sylvia FowlesMinnesota Lynx3
Danielle RobinsonIndiana Fever3
A’ja WilsonLas Vegas Aces3
Briann JanuaryConnecticut Sun2
Jewell LoydSeattle Storm1
Allie QuigleyChicago Sky1
Sami WhitcombNew York Liberty1

Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award Winners

2021Nneka OgwumikeLos Angeles Sparks
2020Nneka OgwumikeLos Angeles Sparks
2019Nneka OgwumikeLos Angeles Sparks
2018Sue BirdSeattle Storm
2017Sue BirdSeattle Storm
2016Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2015DeLisha Milton-JonesAtlanta Dream
2014Becky HammonSan Antonio Stars
2013Swin CashChicago Sky
 Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2012Kara LawsonConnecticut Sun
2011Sue BirdSeattle Storm
 Ruth RileySan Antonio Stars
2010Tamika CatchingsIndiana Fever
2009Kara LawsonSacramento Monarchs
2008Vickie JohnsonSan Antonio Stars
2007Tully BevilaquaIndiana Fever
2006Dawn StaleyHouston Comets
2005Taj McWilliams-FranklinConnecticut Sun
2004Teresa EdwardsMinnesota Lynx
2003Edna CampbellSacramento Monarchs
2002Jennifer GillomPhoenix Mercury
2001Sue WicksNew York Liberty
2000Suzie McConnell SerioCleveland Rockers
1999Dawn StaleyCharlotte Sting
1998Suzie McConnell SerioCleveland Rockers
1997Haixia ZhengLos Angeles Sparks
completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.