HomeSports News Extra

Oyo Unity Cup: Ogo Oluwa/Surulere Win; Dare delighted as Ex-Eagles Show Support

Oyo Unity Cup: Ogo Oluwa/Surulere Win;  Dare delighted as Ex-Eagles Show Support

The pioneer Oyo Unity Cup, which is the brainchild of the Minister of Youth and Sports Development Mr. Sunday Dare with the aim of discovering young talents in football for national and international exports, has ended at the Liberty Stadium in Ibadan, Oyo State.

Ogo Oluwa/Surelere Constituency of Ogbomosho won the Oyo Unity Cup with Olalenkan Oyetunde named the best player of the tournament.

The highest goal scorer award of the tournament went to Friday Michael from Ogoluwa/Surelere Federal Constituency and the fair play award went to Ibadan North Federal Constituency. Best goal keeper of the tournament was Yusuf Adewale from Nigerian Union of Journalists team.

Also Read: Coronavirus Scare For Moses, Aina; Four Serie A Games Postponed

Speaking at the event, the minister thanked all who contributed to the success of the maiden event and said it signals more good things to come in Nigerian sports.


All For Unity –
(L-R): Ex Nigeria internationals Mutiu Adepoju, Daniel Amokachi, Youth and Sports Minister Mr Sunday Dare , Former Eagles Captain Joseph Yobo and Ike Shoronmoun display their Jerseys before the Finals of the Unity Cup sponsored by Dare in Ibadan on Sunday.

“It’s never too late, we have started and we will keep improving on Unity Cups across the federation to ensure this goes across different states to enable us to catch young talents,” Dare said.

“Some of the talents that were discovered are indeed skillful; I am impressed with what I have seen and this has spurred me to do more knowing that there are lots of talents undiscovered across the country.”

Fans were also thrilled to catch glimpses of some of their favourite ex-internationals including Daniel Amokachi; new assistant coach of the Super Eagles, Joseph Yobo; Mutiu Adepoju, and Ike Shorunmu.

Chief Adegboye Onigbinde, former Super Eagles coach; Senator Abiola Ajimobi, former Governor of Oyo State, and the FA Chairmen of Ondo, Ogun and Oyo States respectively were also in attendance.

Copyright © 2024 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of


Update cookies preferences