HomeRugbyRugby Union

Uncapped Duo Join Wales’ Grand Slam Winners

Uncapped Duo Join Wales’ Grand Slam Winners

Uncapped duo Owen Lane and Rhys Carre have been included in Wales’ 42-man training squad to prepare for this autumn’s World Cup. Head coach Warren Gatland, who will step down from the role after the tournament in Japan, has kept faith with nearly all those who helped the Welsh capture the Six Nations Grand Slam in March.

The New Zealander has selected 36 members from his Six Nations party, while back-row forwards Taulupe Faletau, Josh Navidi and Aaron Shingler have been included ahead of their anticipated returns from injury in time for the three-month training camp.

Related: Galthie Confirmed As France Boss

The only new faces given the chance to stake a claim for a spot in Wales’ final squad are Cardiff Blues duo Carre and Lane, with Gatland admitting he is keen to take a look at both men first hand. “It is exciting to name our training squad and to get the RWC ball rolling,” said Gatland in a statement.

“The last couple of years have been about building depth and exposing players and we have done that well, so we have kept the numbers down to make the squad as manageable as possible. “We have been really impressed with Rhys (Carre) and with Owen (Lane).

They have both been on our succession plan for a while and it will be good to have them in camp with us and to see what they are able to do.” Wales will head to Switzerland and Turkey for the training camp over the summer before ending their World Cup preparations with clashes against Ireland and England.

Forwards: Leon Brown, Rhys Carre*, Rob Evans, Tomas Francis, Wyn Jones, Samson Lee, Dillon Lewis, Nicky Smith, Elliot Dee, Ryan Elias, Ken Owens, Jake Ball, Adam Beard, Bradley Davies, Cory Hill, Alun Wyn Jones, James Davies, Taulupe Faletau, Ross Moriarty, Josh Navidi, Aaron Shingler, Justin Tipuric, Aaron Wainwright. Backs: Aled Davies, Gareth Davies, Tomos Williams, Gareth Anscombe, Dan Biggar, Jarrod Evans, Rhys Patchell, Jonathan Davies, Hadleigh Parkes, Owen Watkin, Scott Williams, Josh Adams, Hallam Amos, Steff Evans, Leigh Halfpenny, Owen Lane, George North, Jonah Holmes, Liam WIlliams.

Copyright © 2024 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.


Update cookies preferences