HomeSports News Extra

Adegoke, Brume Named Male And Female Athletes Of The Year

Adegoke, Brume Named Male And Female Athletes Of The Year

Tokyo 2020 Olympics 100m finalist Enoch Adegoke [pictured above] and long jump bronze medal winner Ese Brume have been named the male and female Athletes of the Year respectively at the 2021 Athletic Heat Track and Field Awards held at the Ebonylife Place in Victoria Island, Lagos.

Adegoke won the male athlete of the year following his performance in the local athletics circuit and becoming the first Nigerian man in 25 years to qualify and run in the final of the blue ribband event at the Tokyo Olympics.

The reigning fastest man in Nigeria also won the 100m title at the National Sports Festival held in Edo State before becoming the 11th Nigerian male sprinter to run a sub-10 seconds in the 100m when he clocked 9.98 to win his first round heat at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.
The 2019 African U-20 champion is the only athlete who has won in every category he has been nominated for since the maiden edition of the wards in 2017.

Also Raed – Eguavoen: Eagles Will Play Attacking Football At AFCON 2021

“It’s been an eventful 2021. I feel grateful to God for having my performances get recognized and awarded. Thanks to Athletic Heat for this wonderful initiative. God bless,” said Adegoke.

For Brume, it was the second consecutive year she would be winning the Award after her bronze feat at the 2019 World Athletics Championships ensured she was named the best woman athlete for that year.

2021 Diamond league 100m hurdles winner Tobi Amusan and Tokyo Olympics 100m semifinalist, Grace Nwokocha came second and third respectively.

The event also had Favour Ofili, the African Indoor and National U20 200m record holder win the award for the female U20 athlete of the year and while Udodi Onwuzurike, the World Junior 200m champion was crowned the male U20 Athlete of the year, as well as the Breakout Athlete of the Year.

Other athletes who won awards at the event were Taiye Ayenuro the female U15 Athlete of the Year, Iloba Godspower the Male U15 athlete of the Year, David Aya the Male U18 Athlete of the year, while Nse Imaobong, the World Junior 400m champion, went home with the Female U18 Athlete of the Year award, while the Coach of the year was Olympic coach, George Obiano.

Making of Champions’ Dare Popoola won the Track and Field Writer of the Year Award as Sarah Olamide bagged the Social Media Personality of the Year award.

Special Recognition was given to Delta State Sports Commission, Dr Solomon Alao, Coach Edirin Owivri, Coach Mavuah Esabunor, Mr Olalekan Oyinlola of Leks Sports NG, Mr Austin Orogun and Mr Isaac Chinedu for their contribution to Track and Field in Nigeria in various capacities.

The event was sponsored by the Ebonylife place, MTN, Yessir Foundation, Maxout Fitness, Gooddeeds, Linkfric, WeShootSports and endorsed by the Lagos State Sport Commission and the Athletics Federation of Nigeria.

Copyright © 2024 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of


Update cookies preferences