HomeNigeria National Teams

Exclusive: CAF Can’t Deny Osimhen Men’s Player Of The Year Award –Babangida

Exclusive: CAF Can’t Deny Osimhen Men’s Player Of The Year Award  –Babangida

Former Nigerian international, Tijani Babangida has revealed that it will be difficult for the Confederation of African Football (CAF) to deny Super Eagles striker, Victor Osimhen the African Footballer of the Year Award.

Recall that the award will be held today, and three top players will be vying for it. They include, Osimhen, Mohamed Salah of Egypt and Hakimi of Morocco.

However, in a chat with Completesports.com, Babangida stated that the Napoli striker is top favourite to win the award.

“I really think Osimhen deserves this award by all standard. The record speaks well for him last season and I expect him to be announced as the winner of the award.


Read Also: CAF Awards 2023: Osimhen Flies To Morocco, Misses Napoli Training

“Yes, Salah did well for Liverpool but you can’t compare his performance and achievement with what Osimhen did for Napoli last season in the Serie A.

“I am confident that CAF won’t deny Osimhen because he has worked for it and should be crowned for his efforts.”

Each of the three final nominees for the crown has showcased exceptional talent and contribution to their respective teams, making the choice all the more intriguing.

Nigerian forward Osimhen’s league-leading 26 goals for Napoli last season lifted the club to its first Serie A title in 33 years.

The Napoli striker, who was ranked 8th best player in the 2023 Ballon d’Or award, is heavily tipped to win the crown and would become the first Nigerian to do so after Nwankwo Kanu victory in 1999.

Copyright © 2024 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.


  • Omo9ja 2 months ago

    I wish Osimhen the best of luck in tonight’s CAF award. Since Algeria FA has withdrawn from the event, then Osimhen is the most favorite to win the continental award.

    Having said that, the Super Eagles coach should select his strikers based on their potential and current form.

    No1. Osimhen
    No2. Dessers
    No3 Boniface

    These three are the best for the next year, Afcon. Dessers scored a world-class goal over over the weekend. Kolawole is a unique striker who can destroy any team.

    I have been saying this for a while, and I hope the coach listened once again. The gaffer shouldn’t be deceived by the Super Eagles strikers form but their qualities and potentials.

    Plus, a quality creative midfielder, which in this regard will be Nwakali and with the addition of Nwabali Kai, Super Eagles will be hard to crack for any team in Ivory Coast. God is in control.

    Let’s rally round behind Osimhen Nigerians. It’s Osimhen’s time. “Osimhen lokan.” Good luck to you, Osimhen. Ire o. God bless Nigeria!!!

  • Mercy 2 months ago

    Congrats Osimhen for winning the African player of the year award.

Update cookies preferences