HomeSports News Extra

Professor Ihonvbere To Preside Over Sports Ministry/ Yucateco Boxing Award

Professor Ihonvbere To Preside Over Sports Ministry/ Yucateco Boxing Award

The Majority Leader of the 10th House Of Representatives Professor Julius Ihonvbere will be the Chairman of the occasion of the Maiden Yucateco Sports/Ministry Boxing Award in Lagos on Friday 19th April.

The erudite professor of political science known for his benevolence and advancement in education, said the Sports Ministry/Yucateco Boxing Award is of interest to him based on the pertinent role of sports in propelling the younger generation to opulence.

Professor Ihonvbere said: ” i am so excited to be part of this great initiative, our sports Men and Women have brought honour to our nation in ways we cannot quantify. So, every avenue to recognize and celebrate them must be encouraged”

“Sincerely, it’s a thing of joy to note that those who have brought honour to our country are now getting the recognition they truly deserve after many years.

Also Read: UCL: Without Araujo’s Red Card We’d Still Have Beaten Barcelona –PSG Coach, Enrique Brags

“I look forward to meeting the Awardees in Lagos on Friday and say thank you to each of them for what they have done for our beloved Nation through boxing.

“Let me use this opportunity to commend the Minister of Sports Development, Senator John Owan Enoh, for his vision for Nigerian sports, and also the Yucateco team for their drive to revive boxing in Nigeria.”

The Awardees for this year’s event includes, the President of Nigeria Boxing Federation, Lt. Gen. Kenneth Minimah (Rtd), late Hogan Bassy, the first Nigerian to win a world title – former national middleweight champion Isaac Ikhouria, Commonwealth Games gold medalists Sabo Mohammed and current Nigeria National boxing coach, Anthony Konyegwachie.

Others are 2011 All African Games bronze medalist Lawal Lukmon Olaiwola, Muyili Ojo – Nigerian boxing umpire with the most appearances at international games, women boxing Pioneer Edith Agu Ogoke, former National boxing coach Joseph Mensah, Ogun state boxing pioneer Ajani Aremu, boxing umpire Abdullahi Masha, coach Samson Aransiola, and one of Nigeria’s most decorated boxing umpires Adesanya Olusegun Ayodele.

The Maiden Sports Ministry Yucateco Boxing Award ceremony holds this Friday at JEVINIK Place, 21 Isaac John Street, Ikeja GRA Lagos.

Copyright © 2024 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of


Update cookies preferences