HomeNigeria National Teams

2nd AITEO-NFF Football Awards Holds April 1 In Lagos

2nd AITEO-NFF Football Awards Holds April 1 In Lagos

The second edition of the AITEO-NFF Football Awards ceremony will take place at the Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos on Monday, April 1 2019, reports Completesports.com.

The AITEO-NFF Football Awards is an annual event that rewards the best performers in the Nigerian Football industry over a period of 12 months and debuted to much applause and accolades last year.

The event is expected to have in attendance FIFA Secretary General, Ms Fatma Samoura and no fewer than 20 Presidents of Member Associations of FIFA and CAF, football superstars and industry moguls.

Chieftains of sponsors AITEO (Nigeria’s leading energy solution company) led by Deputy Managing Director, Francis Peters, will grace Monday’s showpiece.

Also confirmed for the event are about six State Governors, alongside Nigeria’s Sports Minister Solomon Dalung.

The occasion will also be graced by Board Members of the NFF, members of NFF Management, officials of the Lagos State Football Association, representatives of NFF sponsors and partners, chairmen of various football Clubs, members of the diplomatic corps, past NFF Presidents and General Secretaries, award nominees and their friends.

A number of renown stakeholders and oaks of the entertainment industry will also be in the auditorium on Monday night.

Meanwhile, Governor Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos State and Samoura (the first woman holder of that exalted position and a proud daughter of the African continent) will receive special awards at the occasion.

Gongs will also be presented to winners in Player of the Year (men), Player of the Year (women), Coach of the Year (men), Coach of the Year (women), Young Player of the Year (men), Young Player of the Year (women), Team of the Season, Fairplay Award, Goal of the Season, Fans of the Season, NFF Development Award, NFF Order of Merit Award, Lifetime Achievement Award and Platinum Award categories.

There will be special recognition of a ‘Legends Eleven,’ a squad of outstanding former Nigeria international players. Last year’s gong went to the 1973 set of Green Eagles that won Nigeria’s first major honour – the gold medal of the football event of the 2nd All-Africa Games that held in Lagos.

Chairman of the Organizing Committee, Barrister Akinwunmi also confirmed that this year’s honour will go to the Super Eagles’ Class of 1994 – the team that qualified Nigeria for her first –ever FIFA World Cup finals, won the Africa Cup of Nations for the first time on away ground and spectacularly reached the Round of 16 at the FIFA World Cup finals in

By Johnny Edward

Copyright © 2024 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.


Update cookies preferences